Service to the Flag Award

The mission of the annual Service to the Flag Award is to recognize women who have served national defense and security, supported military service members, and/or facilitated partnerships between industry and the military. As part of our efforts to honor exceptional work in national security and defense, Women In Defense recognizes two high-achieving women, one working in government and one working in industry, to cultivate and support the advancement and recognition of women in all aspects of national security.

Past Recipients

The Honorable Christine E. Wormuth, Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
Ms. Lisa Atherton, Executive Vice President, Military Business, Bell Helicopter

MG Paulette M. Risher, USA (Ret), Program Director, Veteran Employment Services, Still Serving Veterans
Ms. Janice C. Haith, SES, Director, Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Information Dominance

Brigadier General Wilma L. Vaught, USAF (Ret), President, Women In Military Service For America Memorial Foundation